discussion. new perspective

Jared Eason

Elite Cafe Member
Is it common after studying the engraving arts to no longer oooooo and aaaaaaa at engravings you once thought were fantastic ? I have found this to be true.. like I have said before I'm very new to hand engraving and have very little room to judge. But now by knowing the does and don't of the trade and common mistakes made by amateurs . I see things a lot different now. What made me think of this is, I went to a local gun show this past Sunday and looked at so hand engraved firearms. Where in the past I would have been like, that is awesome. Now I find I'm looking at all the point errors, undercut lines, not back cutting etc. Have y'all experienced this after being better educated in the engraving arts.

glstrcowboy

Elite Cafe Member
Absolutely. I go to the pawn shop to browse somewhat frequently, and cannot believe the worskmanship that left some of the factories. I suppose a lot of that comes from the boredom inherent in repetitive work; i sure would not want to engrave a pallet of shotguns with the exact same pattern. Like anything i guess, after a while its not fun anymore.

I notice the biggest change with my own work. Granted, I haven't been at this very long, but even practice plates from last week that i was happy with when I finished look terrible now.

Red Green

Elite Cafe Member
You must have been looking at engraving from the self proclaimed Master Engravers.

Bob

Jared Eason

Elite Cafe Member
Bob I would like to see some of your work. I like to see different peoples work and there style. Would u mind posting a pic sometime. Or point me to a post where you have in the past?

Red Green

Elite Cafe Member