Help, please: Newbie engraver, onglette heel help

Matej

Hello everyone, looking forward to partake in discussion here! I’m very new to engraving and just want to practice on some copper plates however I’m completely unsure if I’m even sharpening correctly.

I’m starting with push engraving using the GRS quick change system, I’ve bought a flat and onglette graver to go with it. Using a couple grades of diamond plates and a Crocker style sharpener. Face is at 45 degrees and heels approx. 15 degrees. Is the heel in the right place for this onglette? I’m not getting any curled metal when engraving and I feel like it’s pushing the metal apart more than actually engraving. It cuts like butter though and really wants to go in a straight line, curves tend to “bite” around the edges resulting in a horrible finish. These are the best pictures I could get (ignore the broken tip)

I’d appreciate any advice to help get me started as I’m finding it difficult to find reliable info, perhaps my foundational knowledge is lacking.

Attachments

• B3E7CCD5-A042-430D-8945-7844F5F263D1.jpeg
    B3E7CCD5-A042-430D-8945-7844F5F263D1.jpeg
    32 KB · Views: 96
  • 45C4872A-5F98-44EE-9499-CF1E7E34E547.jpeg
    45C4872A-5F98-44EE-9499-CF1E7E34E547.jpeg
    31.7 KB · Views: 91
  • E12C646B-3DCC-4E0D-9933-2B2517AA653A.jpeg
    E12C646B-3DCC-4E0D-9933-2B2517AA653A.jpeg
    28.7 KB · Views: 91

allan621

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Well for a start your tool looks like its flat on the end, the tool is not sharpened correctly. It may be that the end has broken off. Your tool should come to a point.

If you cruise through youtube look for Sam Alfano videos about hand pushing. Try this one for a start. watch
And there are a whole lot of videos by hand engravers you could check out.

There have been a lot of questions about sharpening and sharpening angles. If you have then time go through the library of discussions using the search function, top left on the page.