Looking at a Sil-Air silent air compressor

Donny

Elite Cafe Member
I need to be able to run my hand piece (graver) with it and most will do that…I would also need to run a NSK Presto or GRS 850 high speed rotary tool. Just for background removal on knives, guns, and the like.
Which is the minimum model of the Sil-Air silent air compressors that will achieve this goal?
I have been using CO2 from a 20lb tank for the last 5 years. Just ready to make the jump. But I don't want to over buy this will be strictly for my engraving.

Donny

mrthe

Wich engraving system do you use? i use a 4 cilynder airbrush compressor and i'm able to run it, is not a Sil-air, is just a no oil compressor but is quite 55db and cheap, around 200/250$

Marrinan

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I bought the Silentaire VAL-Air 50-24-AL operate my Gravermach, Lindsay classic, and 2 Ultra 850's. My Daughter and I share studio space. We also have a large, conventional air compressor in the machine portion of the shop where the machine tools are and the belt sanders, and bead blasters etc are located. Her studio room has a line running from the conventional compressor through a system of filters and valves including a dryer all mounted to the wall insider her studio. the Silentaire VAL-Air 50-24-AL runs my engraving bench. In her studio she has a separate storage tank for the cleaned and dried air. with a filters at the air adjustment controls. The large compressor is boxed in and draws air from outside through a vent so event it is pretty quite. Elaborate but works well for us. We have plenty of air power. Fred

Artemiss

Elite Cafe Member
From things I've read and people I've spoken to, Sil-Air compressors are pretty well thought of.

All the good named silent air compressors, such as Jun-Air, Wisp-Air, Sil-Air are, in theory, much the same, from a specification point of view.