I know it's spam, but I'm desperate for feedback

Vasiliy

Hello,

I have designed an application to help with wood-engraving-like shading in vector graphics format. On paper it works great :), but I was hoping to see, if there was any demand for such a program, before going any further into development.

I'm a graphic designer. This is my current project, but I can't force myself to fix mistakes I made in this work, because it is just too laborious. Instead I came up with an idea of how to comfortably generate and manipulate complex set of lines like this:

To make a long story short, I need a hundred of potential customers to convince myself.
http://dore.gnom.us - I set up a simple page to count people

:tiphat: Thank you.

edit: Moses is a woodcut by Gustave Doré

Last edited:

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
I'm not sure if this is something hand engravers can use, but it's intriguing just the same. I have a Photoshop plugin that does something similar. Is this a stand-alone application?

Vasiliy

I must say hand engravers are much more positive about it than computer graphics community.

As far as my research in Photoshop plug-ins goes, this is what they have to offer today

and this is how it should be

Cross-platfromness is not a big deal these days, so, mac - yes. As for plugin vs stand alone, to be honest, I haven't thought it through to this extent. I was so ecstatic of how simple it can be to arrange and to direct lines, that I went "spamming" right away, because my ecstasy evaporates quickly. For me appreciation from other people is a more reliable motivation in long term projects.

PS
Sorry for my English. Sequence of tenses is not my strong suit.
Admin, thank you for approving this post. Engravingforum banned me right away :)

Andrew Biggs

Hi Vasiliy

Your program looks great, but as Sam says, probabley not much good for engravers on a day to day basis.