Gun Engraving and True Hand Engraving A Study Guide of Design, Tools and Techniques

Marcus Hunt

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
mmmmm....... perhaps this guy's better suited as a writer. Sorry, but I don't set much store by guys that can talk the talk but can't walk the walk. His scrollwork is incredibly crude, the lettering is some of the worst I've ever seen AND he goes on about observing wildlife, etc, etc. Why then ( if you follow through to KMatt's gun) has he no idea of a duck's anatomy? 8 primary's on one duck and 13 on the other??? My first attempt at a pheasant when I was an apprentice was better than this guy's. It truly amazes me that this guy can make a living as an engraver!

Before he criticises other engravers, and the use of air assisted tools, perhaps he should actually be able to come up with the goods himself. Do yourselves a favour and don't fall for this psychobabble.

Keith

Elite Cafe Member
His youtube videos are just as bad, He's really down on power assist.
This was a topic here about 6 months back....
Chris, I grew up in New York city and saw the wild life 2 minute wheel stealing many times. Amazing how fast those guys work.

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Mr.Olin is on a website own by a gentleman who deals in high grade double guns.I email him and ask to be put on his links,he told me he never heard of me.I told him he did't look hard enough.Can't sweat the small stuff. J.J.

Andrew Biggs

The thing I dislike about this kind of thing is that the man has not asked us to post his web site or comment on his work or opinions about engraving. He has his own marketing strategy that he feels works for him and hasn't sought our opinions about it. He is also probably blissfully unaware what is happening and therefore doesn't have the right of redress.

Cheers
Andrew

Nathan Ott