Beginner intro to this forum... hello and any help is greatly appriciated, thanks!

Status
Not open for further replies.

13clicks

I am new to engraving and everything that it involves... my interests are motorcycles and bicycles as well as tattoo collecting. I am interested in the correct way to learn the basics of hand chisel engraving to start... I am not wanting to spend over a couple hundred dollars to start... I have seen air engravers that area over a $1000. (I wish I could)

unclejim1955

Elite Cafe Member
This is just my opinion and I'm sure many will disagree. Unfortunately, engraving is not cheap. I and may others wanted to ease in as you now do, but found very quickly that it's like trying to become an auto mechanic with pliers and a screwdriver. In try to do it cheap, your less likely to like it. The best thing you can do is find the closest engraver you can and spend some time with them trying things so you know for sure if it's something you want to do. $1,000.00 for an air engraver is just the beginning. Plan on at least $10,000.00. In my opinion, you're in or you're out and I love being in.

Kevin Scott

Elite Cafe Member
I understand what Jim is saying, and for most situations he is right. And in addition to the expense of tools, there is the cost of lessons, which is a good investment.

But everyone is different. And it also depends on what your goals are.

If your goal is enjoyment, not making money, and can live with slow progress and frustration, you can get into engraving for a couple hundred dollars to start.

I suggest buying Schippers book, or Lynton McKenzie's books and DVD's.
Also, there are many free videos and info on the forums.

One of the most important things to buy, and spend time on, is a good system for sharpening gravers- chisels.

Chujybear

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Not even that slow.
For pleasure, non powered tools are fine. But do go slow. Save your fingers

Andrew Biggs