Work Holding question!

J.B.

I am new to hand engraving and have recently purchased the En-Set system. I am currently using just a ring clamp with a GRS shellac pad to hold my work. I am thinking about investing in a ball vise but I can't seem to find one cheap enough. Is this a "must have" investment? Would a jewelers benchmate system suffice? or even a "peg clamp hand tool"?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Universal-W...503?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27d1189057

I am a jeweler by trade and am considering purchasing the benchmate again. What are the advantages and disadvantages to each with hand engraving?

I would greatly appreciate all opinions!

Thanks,

Jeff

Brian Marshall

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Stockton, California & Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico
The weight of the vise and the "universal" positioning ability make a huge difference.

Peg clamps, shellac sticks, pitch bowls and ring clamps will get the job done if you only do a few a year...

It comes down to how many jobs, what's in your wallet and how much more easily and accurately do you want to work?

They do hold their value if you can find a used one. I believe there is one on the BUY/SELL page right now.

Brian

A relatively inexpensive method to get by with is a pitch bowl, half filled with lead tire weights and plaster. Melt the pitch on top. Green or red - stay away from black pitch.

You can also fill a small mixing bowl with concrete, set some bolts in it before it hardens - and bolt a small toolmakers vise to it.

Use the solid rubber lawnmower tires for a base. (There's a funny story about those if anyone wants to hear it)

Last edited:

dogcatcher

Elite Cafe Member
This is strictly a hobby for me, the cost of fancy vises etc., would be a waste of good party money. For a similar vise for my wood carving I made one using a bowling ball. Here is a link for a simple bowling ball vise. http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/threads/37483-quot-Bowling-Ball-quot-Vises