What Do You Do With Your Metal Scrap?

TGenDS

Hi All,

I'm a relative newbie to engraving, and I practice *a lot.* I practice mostly on copper and brass (though working with steel is ahead).

As the result of my frequent, rigorous practice sessions, I generate *a lot* of scrap. It's a lot, but it's probably not enough to make it worth my while to take to a refiner. I'm totally fine with milling my own precious metals for the jewelry I make (when it becomes either necessary and/or more cost-effective to do so), but I've never milled any of the base metals. Do any of you melt down your own scrap? If not, what do you do with it? At some point it needs to "go out."

Thanks in advance.

Andrew Biggs

Hi Tamra and welcome to the forum.

If it is only brass, copper and other non precious metal I would simply throw it all in the rubbish.

However, gold is worth keeping

Cheers
Andrew

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hi Tamra. Nice to see you here, and welcome :tiphat:

You can certainly find a scrap buyer for brass and copper. You might weigh a practice plate and then figure out what its scrap value is worth. I suspect it won't be much.

John P. Anderson

Elite Cafe Member
I don't worry about the little stuff like the saw dust and such with copper or brass. With silver I've tried to capture every little bit but it's a real hassle. Sawing isn't to bad but when I'm carving the chips fly halfway across the room. I have no idea how much I loose.

Someday I'll take all my silver scraps, melt them down and use it for pendants or rings.

My dad was in the scrap metal and junk business for many years. They were the original recyclers long before it was cool to be green. It's more a duty than a money maker.

Willem Parel

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
As a goldsmith I have a vacuum cleaner that I only use for the workshop.
Together with all the dust fom the polishing machine I send it to a company that gets all the gold and silver out of it.