Help, please: want to learn

i have always admired the ability of engravers and while i am a woodworker and have done quite a bit of carving, engraving is a different animal. i would like to learn but don't know where or how to start

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Taking an engraving class will jump start you on the road to engraving. There are several teachers here who would be happy to train you. Knowing your first name would be nice so we don't have to call you dragon3rdgroup. :)

Welcome to the Cafe.

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
drag,

You are a young person compared to many of the beginners who post here. With that advantage and some good classes behind you the sky's the limit. Most of us recommend a beginning class because you will learn all about the tools and save much time and money doing and buying things that are counterproductive. Many of us who began more than 30 years ago did not have the option of classes and know their value to the more recent beginners.

RB

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
if traveling isn't an option, some of the instructors have on line, live video hookups where things come together right in front of your eyes. chris decamillis has such instruction available. there may be others as well. sam has dvd instructional videos on many of the things you'll want to learn. also the james b. meeks book, "the art of engraving" will give you a birds-eye-view of the disciplines you will want to learn. with your carving skills, i assume you to be able to handle drawing. you'll just be doing such in a much smaller area.

jb1983

Elite Cafe Member