Question: Tool's needed to engrave Bagpipe Mounts?

texasbagpiper

I'm new to engraving but not to metal work and working with my hands. I've been making musical instruments, mainly bagpipes, for about 15 years. I have decided that I want to start engraving the metal parts on my bagpipes which are mostly round ferrules that I roll and solder together from flat sheets as well as the keys used on some of the different types of bagpipes.

I'm looking for a powered machine that will handle this sort of work as well as engrave small signature plates that I will fix to the instruments.

My issue is I'm new to this and their are 3 main companies that people suggest and I don't know which one to go with. I really need the machine that vibrates the least in your hands as I had a carpal tunnel surgery 10 years ago and I don't want that coming back. I'm guessing that these things don't vibrate too much but in the video's I've seen they sound like they may do so a little, some more than others.

I found a thread on the group called "Bagpipe Silver" which shocases exactly what I want to do so I have an idea but wanted to get others opinions, especially from those who have used many different setups and can tell me which of them vibrates less. Maybe its not enough to be an issue, I'm as new as they get.

Thanks, Seth Hamon Bagpipe-Maker

Dave London

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Humm
Since I have had carpel tunnel surgery on both hands, I use the Lindsay Palm Control airgraver . For about 10 or so years 4 plus hrs per day no issues, Excellent product YMMV
Also maybe Rod will chime in here he makes Wood flutes and is a excellent engraver

Last edited:

silverchip

~ Elite 1000 Member ~