Tools at the JCK show in Las Vegas

Christian DeCamillis

Elite Cafe Member
I have just returned from the JCk show in Las Vegas. A big thanks to all who stopped by the booth to visit.

while at the show I was able to get two full days in on the Leica A 60 carried by Tira at engraver.com. Mine will be shipped to me as soon as Tira returns from the show.

This scope is by far the best scope I have ever used for engraving and stone setting. i have been using the zeiss stemi 2000 for the last five years. I must say that this Leica is far better than the Zeiss for the work we do. it's every bit as bright has a much greater depth of field and a larger field of view as well. while working on several projects there the amount of refocusing as I moved workpieces was at least 5 times less. In some cases it wasn't ever necessary to refocus.

The light is fantastic daylight balanced and has 10 intensities. The Stand is absolutely the most stable and easy to move as anything I Have ever tried.

all of these features make it in my opinion the best scope for our industry. the fact that it can be purchased for about 10 percent less than the Meiji with light stand and objective lens if you even need one is a no brainier. the working distance without an objective is 4 1/2 inches. which is in most cases enough.

It's as if Leica designed the scope for our industry instead of the industry having to adapt the scopes to us.

Another tool that will be carried by Otto Frei is a micromotor from Jura . It is a stainless steel perfectly balanced handpiece with a slim front for easy grip. THE vibration while running is so slight that you have to touch the burr to know it is running.