Critique Request Spyderco Delica with english scroll

Mario Sarto

Elite Cafe Member
I am happy with this so far, as it is my first attempt on a knife and on English scroll. I was astonished of this kind of engraving - looks easy on a picture, but doing it, hey it is a lot of work (ok - for me)!
I am sure there are things i could have done better - only didn't see it anymore...
So i need an eye-opener - critique is welcome!
Regards, Mario.

edit: added a better picture...

Attachments

• spyderco-flowers.jpg
    spyderco-flowers.jpg
    107.3 KB · Views: 420
  • spyderco-delica-engraved.jpg
    spyderco-delica-engraved.jpg
    60.1 KB · Views: 411
  • spyderco-delica-closeup.jpg
    spyderco-delica-closeup.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 432
Last edited:

TyG

Elite Cafe Member
I think it is stunning.

As a saddler and carver I look for framed focus on my work and I border these focus pieces.

I think maybe a border might highlight the lovely work you have done and have accentuated it.

But I think it looks beautiful anyway. Ty

mitch

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Okay, Mario, since you said it was alright to offer a critique publicly, here goes*...

In no particular order of importance, here are a few of my impressions-

For the size of the scrolls, your main lines are too thick/heavy. They make the 'spines' too dark & wide for the 'weight' of the rest of the design. English scroll is a delicate style.

The scrolls should lightly touch by one line width wherever they meet (which is a good rule for any style). You've left too much space between them in too many places, then you were forced to fill in the excess space with unattractive little pieces. Sometimes it can take quite a few drafts to get the scrolls to both fit the space AND fit with each other correctly. In this case, you probably could have fit at least one more scroll around the perimeter of your main scrolls.