Question: Soldering wire rope edge on silver buckles

ken dixon

Elite Cafe Member
I have a couple buckles to make and I have always had trouble with this so I was hoping someone had some helpful advise.

I am using hard silver solder.

When you lay the wire out around the buckle perimeter it has areas that don't lay perfectly flat to the surface. How do you hold the wire down as you solder it? I have clamped things with the grs third hand clamps to solder and had them get to hot and kind of burn a divot into the silver.

I am no soldering expert so any help is appreciated.

Ken

cowboy_silversmith

Elite Cafe Member
Howdy, Ken. This is how I approach a project such as this. I have a large 18" X 18" steel screen with a cut out 3" X 3" section. I use straight fiber handles lock tweezers as my clamps. Most buckles I use 5 tweezers spaced evenly apart to clamp. I lay the project over my hole in the screen and begin to heat. Once the flux is to temperature, I concentrate on adding my first bit of solder to a section between two of the tweezers. ( I should mention here that I do not use chips for this process but rather I feed the solder wire into the rope where it meets the base). As the solder follows the heat, I work counter clockwise. As the solder seam approaches the tweezer, I remove it and continue towards the next tweezer. I continue in like fashion until I complete the full circuit. I have never experienced the tweezers leaving any impressions in the sterling twisted wire rope...ever.

silverchip

~ Elite 1000 Member ~