sketch

rod

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Every sketch you post is a winner!

I like everything about this, except the little piggy tail at the bottom does stand out, to my eye, to not be in the vocabulary of the rest of the design. With your excellent understanding of form and balance, it should be no problem to close that gap while remaining in the main style?

Keep 'em coming!

Rod

Willem Parel

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I second all Rod is saying, but not only the piggytail he mentioned needs something, in my opinion the "walking stick" on the right side is standing out to whole design.
But I admire your designs in general and they are very inspiring to me.
Keep on drawing and showing !!!

Willem Parel

~ Elite 1000 Member ~

Maybe its my fantasy Shawn or my poor skills of pointing out things but the red lined part is what I saw as a walking stick.
I think the form of the leaf doesn't fit quite good to the rest of the design.
But notice I am a beginner but I try to see and learn (so take it for what it's worth;))

rod

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Willem,

My sense is that when Shawn cuts and shades this design, the walking stick will be what it is, a leaf structure that is in context.
Man, I gotta get back up to those big skies of Montana again, Shawn, there's is something up there that's tweaking your muse in just the right direction. These are great designs!

Rod

rayf24

Elite Cafe Member
Shawn
As always I like your designs I have a file with your name on it and vist it often to study. I like the pig tail but maybe a little more taper to the end would help as for walking stick as willem said a little tweaking.
You do tempt me into knockoffs though! I need to get the pencil out but my paying job is getting in the way at the moment.
Shawn I have a question did you study under someone or the general style from a particular book or the head ??
ray

didyoung

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
rayf24....i daydream a bunch.