Raised Gold Genovese

Brian Hochstrat

Elite Cafe Member
Here is one that went out the door this morning, it is headed to the Chicago show. I have been trying out new techniques to increase my bag o' tricks, and also to get more diversity in the work I am doing. My work is predominately arabesque scroll and bulino work, which I do prefer, but a change up is nice after a while. So, on this piece I decided to go with some raised gold. Which I have never done before, and which I found is not easy. One problem among many others, is finding your edges,even when you have lines to follow, it is like finding the light switch in the dark, you know it is there somewhere, but you are not sure exactly where. Steve Lindsay had done a few off these and I always wanted to give it a try. It was not long into it that I gained more appreciation for his ability. I have done some complex work, but this by far was the most difficult engraving I have done yet. Even though it looks deceptively straight forward.

Being it was my first go at it, and I don't waste gold or time on many practice plates, I did this on a spec knife, a 2 3/4" Genovese. So just in case my best laid plans went south, it would not be on somebody's prized possession. As with any new technique, I got better as I went, and although I am pleased with this first try, the next one I know will go much smoother and cleaner. There should be fewer tools going airborne, anyway.:) Thanks for looking. Brian

rod

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Brian,

It is always a treat to open your posts, and reading that the knife is your first try at raised gold, well, clearly you are advancing your art wearing 'seven league boots'!

Great work!

Rod

Brian Hochstrat

Elite Cafe Member