Questions about lettering on the inside of a ring

Arnaud Van Tilburgh

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I could not find answers and tips on engraving on the inside of a ring.

I have tried to do this for a long time, I had the best result using a "flat" engraver. I didn't have the Graversmith then, but gold and silver ain't that hard to cut.

I have seen a lot of hand engravings on the inside of wedding rings, I studied them to find out how they where done.

Yesterday I tried it again with a 120° engraver, but it was not so good as I would like it to be.
I suppose there is a "trick" tot do this kind of engraving, can someone help me on that?

How I do it till now is cutting from the top of the letter to the bottom. I turn the engraver a bit to the outside of the roundness of the line. My example shows the direction I do it.
I also know that it is more easy to draw the letters at 45°.

So a little help on this would be welcome.

arnaud

Attachments

• lettering.jpg
    lettering.jpg
    30.8 KB · Views: 203

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Inside ring engraving can be quite a challenge because of the small space and limitations of graver movement. On wide rings I use a flat graver for the bright cuts and a square for the hairlines. I don't use a 120 inside rings as they can easily cut too wide.

I tell my students that on a scale of 1 to 10, if you rate your lettering as an 8, it will be about a 4 when engraving inside rings.

mdengraver

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Aphabet for Inside Ring Hand Engraving

Search for this thread (Aphabet for Inside Ring Hand Engraving) . It provides you a good script alphabet for inside ring engraving. There are also many threads at the Engravers cafe on inside ring engraving, including how
to prepare your gravers.

Arnaud Van Tilburgh

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
You encourage me al lot Sam. :D but sure it is probably hard to do.