Practice Plate Preparation Question

Anyone,

I am a beginner to engraving, I have stuided various videos, books and searched the forums, but I am not able to find any information on how to correctly prep a pratice plate?

The only information I found was in the Bulino Thread that the place should be highly polished

How fine of a finish should the pratice plate or article be polished to prior to layout?

For a Bulino or Banknote style engraving piece, should the polishing be higher or finer?

Thanks in Advance

Steve

JCP

I am a beginner also and I have just started sanding my practice plates (Black Iron steel flat bar ) on a belt sander . It works pretty well for cutting with hammer and chisel.

Glad you asked this question as
I need to learn more also.

fegarex

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I'm guessing some may have different opinions on this but I think the practice plates need to be finished around 600 grit or higher. For just scroll work, a worn 400 grit is fine too. When I am actually doing an engraving job, I request the finish even higher. It's easier to bring "down" the finish than it is to bring it up. If the surface is highly polished, it can be hard to do a layout with a pencil. What I like to do is usually rough the surface with a gray 3M scuff pad in an orbital motion. If all the scratches are in the same direction it is hard to see pencil ot scribe lines. Once you are done, it is easy to bring back the finish. However I find the gray 3M pad makes a nice final finish for firearms. If you are doing jewelry or western work, this may not apply as most people want a high polished finish.

Jim Sackett

Elite Cafe Member
One Long Way

Hi JCP

I am what you might call a re-tread. I've been away from engraving for about 30 years. I started out in the Engraved Stationary field, engraving plates for wedding invitations, announcements etc. Also business cards, letterheads & envelopes.