Positioning Vise

bdext002

Hi all,

I'd like to preface my rant by saying that I feel like this needs to be said by someone who has taken so much away (in knowledge and inspiration) from frequenting this forum.

I'm a bench jeweler at a small store who does a majority of the stone setting and engraving. A couple years ago I did a bright cut leaf engraving on the sides of an engagement ring. The customer was thrilled. The only person more thrilled was my boss, who proceeded to advertise my engraving ability to just about every John and/or Jane who walked through the door looking for custom work.

Since that day I have done countless engravings on countless rings, both practice and paid for. With every new job, my interest grew. I started looking at pictures of engravings. I purchased The Art of Engraving by JB Meek. I even filled my notebook with doodles of scrolls and lettering.

However, most all of my work being in precious metals, I have always been fascinated and, at times, even envious of those who engrave and inlay in steel. I came across this forum at the beginning of my, still young, career and hadn't taken the opportunity to really browse through the wealth of information it has, until recently.

Spending the past few months reading and learning about everything I could on this forum has inspired me to take the leap to start my own small operation out of my house. I won't be quitting my job or anything - I'm not THAT courageous and I do have to pay rent. I'd just like to start doing what I'm really passionate about, even if it's just for practice or gifts for my friends and family.