Question: Pneumatic machine vs manual

cenew26

I am brand new to engraving and just finished a great one week class using a GraverMax G8. I would now like to try engraving without a machine and be totally manual. I was needing some good resource books and information on how to do this. Thanks for any help.

Marcus Hunt

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Nothing wrong with going totally manual, that's how I started but be prepared for a huge learning curve compared to air assist. The main time consumer is creating muscle memory. If hand pushing you need to learn to push in a controlled manner and this often means two opposed actions e.g. moving the graver through the metal and creating resistance at the same time so you don't skid out of the cuts. Hammer and chisel isn't any easier as you need to turn or walk around the vise in some way plus you need to find the right hammer for you and then build the subtle rhythms required; it's not like banging a nail into wood!

I found some of my old practice plates the other day and removed the rust from them. They are dated about 6 months after I first started my apprenticeship. If I say so myself, the small scroll wasn't at all bad and was more than passable at a commercial level but the English large scroll....that was a different matter entirely. It's not got the required depth, the shading is ropey, dog-legs in the scrolls, etc, etc, but as I say this was only 6 months or so into my apprenticeship; that was a 40 hour week and I had a master to guide me.

If hand pushing or h&c is the way you want to go that's great but it will take a great deal of dedication and patience. Look to getting acceptable results in well over a year if you're only doing this part time and are having to teach yourself and don't be put off if you are still struggling 6 months down the line.