Critique Request Plat. ring with sapphire and diamonds

JakeW

I have been a jewelry designer and metalsmith for 17 years and 2 years ago took a class at GRS for engraving. I have really enjoyed hand-engraving and hope to continue to get better. I know my scrolls are not good but was hoping get some instruction on how to make them better and any other helpful hints. Thanks

Attachments

• DSC06375.jpg
    DSC06375.jpg
    88.2 KB · Views: 171
  • DSC06353.jpg
    DSC06353.jpg
    78.9 KB · Views: 168

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I think your scrolls look pretty good - and the overall engraving is great!

Looks to me like all you need to do is keep practicing.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
great ring. very nice scroll. as a matter of style, i don't really like the sharp corners at the ring bottom. having said that, i think you did an excellent job of turning the corners with your design. quite nicely done.

diandwill

Elite Cafe Member
I think the design is fine, and the combination of florettes and the scrolls is well done. Exceptional mill graining.

That being said, the scrolls are almost a 'luminesque' style, no leaves but parallel bright cuts. It is a good idea, and one I have used, although not in platinum.

If you really want the scrolls to sing....

Send it to Sam!!LOL:):beerchug::):big grin::yes:yes

Two Claws