Newbie saying hi, advice on house number plates

tysfoot

Hi,
This is my first post.
Im Gary 28 from Manchester, UK. I work as a postman and i would like a little hobby in the afternoons to keep me occupied, i like working with my hands and i wouldnt mind making a little extra income

I wanted to know what tools and equipment is needed to create simple slate house number plates

Here are two example of work that i would like to be doing:

http://www.slate-house-signs.co.uk/raised-letters.html
http://www.timpson.com/online-store/house-sign-ajax.asp?product_id=701

Any advive on tools, tequniques and tips would be great

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Hello Gary,

On the first site the house signs look like they have been sandblasted. On the second I would say either sandblasted or CNC machined. I don't think either site shows work that was done with the type of tools we use here. The tools we use can be used on slate, rock, etc., but they will not give you the look of the two sites you show.

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Hi Gary!

Glad you made it over here.
click here for that thread I told you about.

That's work done with tools somewhat similar to what most of us use here, and Gargoyle should be able to tell you what sort of things you need to do the work you want to do.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i've done quite a lot of stone work. slate is one of them. if you want to, slate can be carved with nothing more than common , screwdrivers. chisels, punches, large nails, etc. carbides in a dreml tool will eat this stuff. slate is very soft to work. also very dusty. textures very well, holds a variety of paints if you want to do that. but the paint usually will not weather well outdoors. old flatware ( don't let yer wife see this) can be re-shaped into a variety of scrapers for working slate. rotary tools are ok, impact tools aren't too good if the slate is thin, it is kind of fragile.

tysfoot