Help, please: newbie having fundamental problem

mtwheatley

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Hi you'all

I'm very new to engraving. I've fiddled a bit, read a lot, and bought what I think is a reasonable beginner's set of stuff: a Graversmith, a GRS power hone with dual angle fixture, a standard GRS graver's ball and a bunch of QC gravers including 90, 105 and 120 square gravers.

I figured out how to sharpen and heel the gravers thanks to my equipment and some very good online literature.

But almost always when I begin to engrave a straight line (using copper practice plates) my graver gets bogged down, graves too deeply and ends up like a snow plow trying to push copper. If I try a much lighter touch and lower graver angle, the graver gets started and then just doesn't move.

I've tuned my GRS 901 handpiece, resharpened and heeled the gravers, and checked that all my air pressures are correct.

What am I doing wrong? It looks so easy to do in the beginner's videos.

Help!

Michael

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
What angle do you have for the face and the heels? Art you using a traditional heel or a parallel "V" type heel? The traditional heel will be easier to do straight lines especially at first.

mtwheatley

Tira,

Thanks for your reply.

The face of my square gravers is 45 degrees, the heels are 15 degrees. I'm using traditional heels.

I have the same problem with flat and onglette both of which have 45 degree face and very small heels ground according to GRS instructions.

Michael

Marrinan

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
where are you located? Could be someone is close enough to give you a bit of a push start. Lots of folks her are willing to share. Fred (I'm in southwestern GA)

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~