Newb giving engraving a shot

Herderz

First off forgive my ignorance to the trade. Just a little back story, I was an art major many years ago and have always in my life loved to explore many different media my life. I have most of the time been able to challenge new things because I have always been able to see what I wanted something to be rather than what I have in front of me. Most recently I have been doing antique clock restoration and repair for about 12 years now. That being said, a gun smith friend of mine after repairing a couple clocks for him said I should look into engraving after doing some detailed parts fabrication for him on small parts him was not able to do. He said that I had the patience for detail and would probably be good at it. Sounded like a new challenge so I started to look into it through this forum and others.

The start showed me that there are many options as to how engraving is done. Most not that cheap to start, so I though what did the masters do? I do old school clock repair by hand with basic tools of the trade. I could spend a lot of money for fancy modern tools but I don't. Most of my tools are antique. First I bought James Meeks book, great read. I have started with a square lathe graver that took me a while to hone on diamond plates per Mr. Meeks. I made me a brass "chasing hammer" from brass stock I had. Also a dimpling chisel from a 1/16 punch I had. (See pic #1)

Next, practice plates? Well I can see why but I am 60 years young and do not have as much time as younger people to the trade so I did one plate mainly understand how to sharpen the graver that I had and do some type of scroll. I opted to learn on the fly. Control of the graver was a challenge at first being that it was just 4 3/4 in. long took a little getting use to. The weight of my hammer with a little adapting got me into the light taps need for clean cuts and curves although not perfect by any means. (See pic #2) I don't have a real graver for the trade.