New to this

Mack

Elite Cafe Member
OK here goes !
I am new to this site. I am very new to engraving.
I was a bench jeweler for many years. I got my start by on the job training, and after 6 years went on my own.
I used gravers for stone setting and that was pretty much all. I kept saying I was going to learn engraving but I didn't know anyone who did that, and didn't know where to start. I have " The Jewelry Engravers Manual" and "The Art of Engraving" but still cant get the hang of it. I know it will take years but it is frustrating when I keep slipping so much. I know the sharpening of the graver is really important and I have a Crocker sharpener. Still I keep slipping, but now I am 62 years old and I am determined to do it. I met a Jeweler just last week who engraves some, and who helped me a little. I want to learn "chase" engraving more than push engraving. I do not have and probably never will have the money for an air compressed machine. I am on a fixed income and just can't do it. My hobby now that I am retired is making knives especially lockback folders and liner locks. I don't make fancy stuff, just working knives, but I wouldn't mind putting some engraving on some of them. Most of my practice is on brass since that is what I will be engraving on eventually and I have quite a bit of it. I practice on it and then grind it off and practice some more. I have an optivisor on the way. Mine got lost somewhere along the way. I am working now with a magnifier lamp.
My biggest question is what kind of handles do chase engravers have? I have set mine in 1/2" aluminum rod. and it seems to work but I can't find anything on what anyone else has done. I make my own handles for the push engravers and make some of the gravers out of O-1 tool steel, since I have that for knives. I made one the other day out of a steel bed rail, and it seems to be better then the O-1 but I don't know what kind of steel it is.