New guy microscope help?

SteveBal

Hi all- I'm new here, and new to engraving. I'm trying to put together some basics to get me started. I'm working on a limited budget, so much of what I have is used. My main question pertains to the microscope (which I have little knowledge about). I had a couple older scopes, only one of which might work, but not a very good scope. I just purchased an Olympus binocular scope with 4x zoom. The model is VMT – 4F. Eyepieces are GWH10x 23.

The optics are great, but even at 1x zoom, a nickel fills the entire view, and only gives me about three inches of working space between the scope and subject. So, I just seem to have too much magnification, and I don't know where to go from here. I see people talk about using a .5 Barlow lens to increase the working distance, but I'd have to find one, plus the extension tube the manual says I'd need for the .5.

No budget for a high-end scope. Is there any way I can make this one do the job?

Any help is appreciated.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
welcome to the forum. not sure about the extension tube, but the .5 objective will cut your power in half. the .5 also will double your working distance giving more clearance for your hand.
you have many things to get a grasp on. chief among them is developing good drawing skills. tool sharpening ranks right up there. practice must precede attempting to serve a client.
unless you're just a hobbyiest, you should also develop a good business plan.
check the tips for beginners and other info at the beginning of the forum. there's never been a better time to learn this art than now. lotsa videos, books, and naturally, good advice to be had right here.
btw: a .5 can be found on the bay. try used engraving tools. lotsa goodies there.

SteveBal