Help, please: Need some guidance with background removal

john d

I'm fairly new to engraving and I need some guidance regarding the removal of background around my scrolls, etc. I currently use a dental burr that quickly cuts away material and, if I'm very careful, results in a not-unpleasant texture effect. But I've noticed from some of you all a very smooth background and I can't figure out how that's done.
Can anyone steer me to a tutorial or other resource so i can try this technique?

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
burrs

John,Using a rotory tool and dental burrs when removing the background around the scrolls will get you in trouble,one slip and you'll spend hours correcting the mistake.I would suggest crossing hatching the background with a single point 90 degree graver,just trying to keep you out of trouble.:thumbsup:J.J.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
I cover this in great detail in my video ENGRAVING SCROLLWORK - START TO FINISH.

Red Green

Elite Cafe Member
I just purchased Sam's lettering video from the FEGA. I watched it today and I can tell you it has more information in it than you could possibly get dollar for dollar from a class, he covers a great deal. I would imagine the 'Engraving Scrollwork' video would be equal in value. Actual classes may be the best way to learn but Sam's video should be adequate if properly practiced and if you ask nice he may even answer a question or two.

Bob

Andrew Biggs

Hi John

To add to what others have said.

depending on the metal........Use flats. These can be made or brought pre shaped. I would highly recommend rocking the heel as that gives you more clearance on the walls of your engraving. It's also important to use the appropriate size flat. 3 sizes will get you going. Small, very small and tiny.