My First Flint Lock rifle engraving

leschowe

Elite Cafe Member
Hi Everyone,
I finally got around to engraving one of my flint lock rifles (I have 4 more to engrave). This is my first attempt to engrave a gun. I have tried here to duplicate the engraving of Issac Berlin who was a rifle maker before and after the revolution and was in the revolution from start to finish. I really like his work. The rifle itself is also in the spirit of his designs. I would also note that Issac did not seem to engrave his side plates so the side plate design is completely my own creation and, hopefully, in keeping with the spirit of Issac's design.
I would be very interested in comments regarding my shading as I am not supper happy with it and would like to improve it.

Thanks,

Les

Attachments

• Patch_box.jpg
    Patch_box.jpg
    36.3 KB · Views: 227
  • Side_Plate.jpg
    Side_Plate.jpg
    34.2 KB · Views: 213

CRW

Elite Cafe Member
Hi Les,

Looks very nice to me.

My thoughts are that it could have a little more design on the side plate. But then again I am not familiar with Issac's designing, so you could be spot on as far as I am concerned.

I especially like the fine shading you did on the side plate.
Keep up the good work.

gtsport

Elite Cafe Member
Beautiful work. Makes me want to pull out the rifle I started when I was sixteen and finish it. Oh look! a squirrel!

Joe Paonessa

Tom Curran

Elite Cafe Member
Les, you are doing very nice, clean work. It's very hard to put the graver to a gun you have put months of time into. Good for you!

Much of the original work of the 18th and 19th Cents is quite crude by our standards, so to have the piece 'ring' of the time period, we must be conscious of the conditions and equipment the smiths worked with and under. Also consider the expectations of the day were not what we have come to appreciate as engraving.