Help, please: mtorocycle parts-how to hold them???

Ed Westerly

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I have a problem (a new one, not my personality!). How do you hold motorcycle transfer case covers, vavle covers, etc. on your engraving vise??? :thinking: I have no experience with this field, but someone has asked me to engrave their Harley parts, and I would like to do it, but fear :confused: that I will run into great Turmoil :no: and Headaches :beatup: , not to say Lost Hair! :tiphat:

thanks in advance for any help. :clapping:

Mike Fennell

Elite Cafe Member
I hold them between my knees and rev to 10,000 rpm.

- Oh, wait, you're not riding them - you are engraving them!

For a large pieces, just set it on a large turntable or drill press with rubber shelf material or thick towel under it to keep it from sliding around. Mike Dubber did a youtube video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZacPS3V1AWs

For a small piece, mount it on a strip of wood with thermoloc and lock the wood jig in the vise.

Mike Fennell

Last edited:

diandwill

Elite Cafe Member
Remember too, if the parts are chromed, they should be stripped first. As explained to me, the chrome will flake into very small surgical knives, and your hands will bleed from un-realized cuts. The cast aluminum may have pits and cavities, so your design and background should account for this.

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Yup, everything they said. I would add that I use rubber washers so the screws don't scratch the parts. Sometimes you can clamp the part right into the vise (w/ leather pads) depending on what has to be engraved and where. Invest in a good set of ear muffs because it will ring very loudly depending on what part too.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i do derby covers quite like christopher, but the part that gets clamped in the vise jaws is a half circle. it allows for re-orientation without a lot of movement of the ball vise.

Ed Westerly

~ Elite 1000 Member ~