Microscope Question

Chapi

Elite Cafe Member
I just picked up a microscope and I have zero prior experience with microscopes and I am having some trouble getting rid of the double image. I have played with the pupilary rings and the dioptor adjustment and just about every other knob on this thing and just can't seem to get rid of the double images. I have checked the individual eyepieces to make sure they are the same magnification. Help! I am lost and frustrated!

jldj

eyeshields

Some cheap eye shields off ebay made a big difference in how well I could see and focus on mine. They were only 10 bucks with free shipping from Precision World. And Hey! - I've seen your work - you don't even need that thing! - lol - think your gonna love it. gl Jack

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I think Mario is probably right about the problem.

I assume you've adjusted the eyepieces. If you haven't, it's pretty easy.

Scribe a + on a plate and center it under the scope. Cover one eyepiece (don't close your eye, cover it). Make sure the other eyepiece is set at it's zero mark and focus on the + using the focus knob. Zoom in all the way so the focus is as touchy as possible.

Once you've got the first eye focused, switch which eye is covered and adjust the other eyepiece. But don't touch the focus knob. Use the adjustment of the eyepiece. There's a little screw on the ring you can loosen so you can reset the zero mark to what's right for you (in case other people use / adjust your scope).

There's a thread here somewhere with all of this info and more.

Chapi

Elite Cafe Member