Meiji Question

Mike C

I was fortunate enough to pick up a Meiji EMZ 5 on E-bay very reasonably. It comes with 12.5 eyepieces. While I realize the the recommended setup is 10X eyepieces with a .5 objective lens, my question is could I use a .44 objective lens and the 12.5 eyepieces? The magnification range changes from 3.5X-22.5 to 3.85X-24.75X, that I wouldn't think would be a big deal. My main concern is the change in the working distance from 148mm to 171mm, an increase of a little less than 1 inch.

I bought it right so the cost of both eyepieces and a new objective lens wouldn't be prohibitive but if I wouldn't have to pony up for new eyepieces so much the better.

Question 2 what do you recommend for a microscope light, florescent or the new LED light?

Question 3 The Acrobat or original microscope stand?

I might add I'm a jeweler not a firearms engraver.

Thank you for any input you might have.

Mike

Last edited:

fegarex

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Mike,
I can't give you a good answer on question #1. I'm not all that familiar with the objective lenses. My guess would be go with a .5 however. I know that it is a good working distance for me. The little added power on the low end might be too much though. You would have 4.375 instead of 3.5. I do know I like to use the 3.5 a lot.
As far as #2. I like a florescent ring light but that is my personal preference. The LED can cast spots. Some like it however.
#3. Acrobat for me all the way. I had a couple of others and wouldn't go back.
Hope that helps.
Rex

Tom Curran

Elite Cafe Member
If your workpiece surface is always the same height, you may not need the Acrobat.

Acrobat is the way to go for flexibility. Firearms engraving is difficult because the workpieces vary in size so much, that the Acrobat is essential for that kind of work. If you are doing copperplate engraving, where the engraving surface is always the same height, a simple boom might be just fine.

Tom

pilkguns

~ Elite 1000 Member ~