Intoduction

bronzetools

Hello everyone,
My name is Steve Leonberger.I am a Finish Carpenter and a Cabinetmaker from Central Illinois who has started making bronze woodworking tools. I have taken all the evening metalworking and welding classes my local community college offers and have converted 1/4 of my cabinet shop into a machine shop. I built a small foundry outside of my shop and have been casting small bronze hand planes. I design and fabricate all my patterns and have taken an interest in using scroll and engraving designs to carve in my patterns. I will then reproduce them in cast metal.I have the Joe Rundell FEGA DVD and I am now in the process of learning to draw scroll patterns.
I have both of Ron Smith's books and they are a wonderful resource.I would love to attend a show where I could view some of Joe Rundell's work as I am sure pictures cannot capture the depth of his artistry.
I believe the engravers craft will help me take my woodcarving to the next level and beyond.
I am very grateful to the engraving community for openly sharing their craft in print, video and online as engraving classes present too great a financial hardship at this time.
Best Regards Steve

Marrinan

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Welcome Steve, I might suggest a visit to this web site http://hamlertools.blogspot.com/ and http://craftsmanshipmuseum.com/Hamler.htm a Google search will provide much more under Paul Hamler Tools he is the true master of the miniature woodworking tool. I have had the please of visiting with him on two occasions and holding these masterpiece's in my hands. He is also a marvelous gentleman who share so much with others-Fred

Last edited:

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hello Steve, and welcome to the Cafe! Have fun, post pictures, ask questions, and make friends. :)

Tim Wells

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Steve,