Question: I need help with identification

lookingforyou

After my Fathers passing in 2010 I found this knife among his belongings. Last month I was looking at it and something caught my eye that was very tiny, so I got my eye loupe and could not believe what I found. Under magnification I found the entire knife was engraved and appears to be several layers thick. I bought a digital microscope with 200x power and 5mp camera. I was a highly skilled machinist for 35 years and to my best guess I can get down to .001 of an inch and am still uncovering new images. I am not sure what I have or where my father may have acquired it, but I assume it is rare. I read a little and assume this is microscopy engraving. I hope someone can tell me about it. If you need more pictures, or want my email or phone let me know.
Thanks, Mike

Attachments

• IMG_0455 (3).JPG
    IMG_0455 (3).JPG
    115.1 KB · Views: 296
  • IMG_0359 (3).jpg
    IMG_0359 (3).jpg
    44.8 KB · Views: 293
  • IMG_0430 (2).jpg
    IMG_0430 (2).jpg
    78.7 KB · Views: 295
  • IMG_0416.jpg
    IMG_0416.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 296
  • IMG_0466 (2).jpg
    IMG_0466 (2).jpg
    50.3 KB · Views: 295
  • knife.jpg
    knife.jpg
    128.9 KB · Views: 297
  • soldier.jpg
    soldier.jpg
    144 KB · Views: 300
that is a very nice old knife, it bears the marks of old age, his character.. but Alas, I think that's about it

Very nice piece though

Simone

Marrinan

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
The style of the knife is unusual to begin with. Shape might indicate flint lock days. If the last picture is a cut in the blade steel with unusual rust or corrosion in the bottom, I would begin with one or tow of the knife collecting books focusing on the colonial period. Obviously stock removal blade but the full shape is something a knife historian might recognize. A mystery to me.

Ron Spokovich

Elite Cafe Member