Help, please: I Need Help with Hobo Nickels and the tools that go with them

Hobo_Nickels

Hi everyone! I am relatively new to engraving. My main interest is carving Hobo Nickels. So far, I have made 7 hobo nickels, and I am starting to get better. I found a few hand gravers (just regular not the fancy ones, lol but they have big ends), sharpened the ends of some rasps, so I have a carver/grinder in one, (doesn't work that great :rolleyes: ) a bench vice(problem with it is it damages the coins), sand paper, and a sharpening stone. I know, not the best tools, but its what I could come up with. So my question is how can I do better with, or make the best of these tools, or get better tools real cheap? I am very happy I found this forum! Thanks very much in advance!

-HN

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
check out the tips section. if you're like me, you'll end up making a lot of your own "tiny tools" as i call them. hot melt glue on a block of wood. clamp the wood in your vise. when finished, common rubbing alcohol will release the glue bond. good luck & send a foto or 2 to show us your work.

Keith

Elite Cafe Member
I am in new jersey and carve hobo nickels. If you want to take a ride i can get you set up.

Hobo_Nickels

Thanks for the advice monk! I never though of that!!!

Keith, thank you so much for the offer, but I can't do that right now. Is there a way you could help without me having to travel?
Thanks guys!

-HN

Red Green

Elite Cafe Member
mrthe has created a set of templates he uses to cut Nickels, Lindsay sells them on his website, perhaps mrthe can tell you more about them. There are ways to create inexpensive graver blanks, Lindsay's HSS blanks are reasonable at $30 for 5. and do not require diamond hones to sharpen. A commitment to engraving is not cheap, some people feel commitment is important, there are a few people on this forum who are relatively certain I should be committed.

Bob

GTJC460

~ Elite 1000 Member ~