How to engrave small circles?

Engraver10

Dear engraver friends,

I'm new here on the Forum, and I'm still learning this art that I love. Attached in this post and images recorded by me. I use damar varnish for transfer, apply acetone on the back with a cotton swab and use a polish by rubbing until the design is transferred.

Then I wait for the varnish to dry well and take it under running water and slowly remove it with my fingertips in circular motions until I remove all the paper. I have really liked this technique. Then I can show you a transfer here.

My base uses medium hard copper plate, in my country I can't get steel plate or other metal. I used a 90⁰ square burin (manual) with a 10⁰ heel, for very small circular grooves I use a singlet burin with a 45⁰ heel.

My prints are still using the technique of thickening and narrowing the lines. I don't have a spiked ball. I use a thick glass plate and a flannel for circular movements and secure my plate to a wooden support. I would really like some tips for friends here, to help a friend who learns a little more of this beautiful art every day.

I've been exercising an average of 20 hours a week. In my country there is a lot of lack of tools.

Thanks to everyone who can contribute their help.

Attachments

• 20230712_165540.jpg
    20230712_165540.jpg
    138.6 KB · Views: 95
  • 20230616_151711.jpg
    20230616_151711.jpg
    81.8 KB · Views: 106
  • 20181205_040845.jpg
    20181205_040845.jpg
    119.3 KB · Views: 103
  • 20230712_145336.jpg
    20230712_145336.jpg
    107.7 KB · Views: 98
  • 20230712_145325.jpg
    20230712_145325.jpg
    115.7 KB · Views: 84
  • 20230712_145344.jpg
    20230712_145344.jpg
    109.9 KB · Views: 91

mtlctr

Elite Cafe Member
I like your style , especially the woman.
small circles, what you are doing now close the scrolls. Your cutting and tool control looks pretty good to me draw a bunch of small circles & go for it. I’m sure you will succeed .

monk

Staff member