How nessasary is pneumatic engraver for a beginner?

Hey all! I am an apprentice jeweler who would like to learn the art of hand engraving to add to my skills as a jeweler. I will be engraving primairly silver and brass to start but eventually gold as well. My original plan is to begin hand push engraving, and eventually saving up for pneumatic engraver, but I was curious if it worth beginning to learn without? or is it nessasary// reccomended to learn with the pnuemic engraver for best results?

Thanks all!

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
the power toys just save time. most any jewelry work i've done was small enough that power assist simply was not needed. matter of fact, on small work i woud simply turn off the power while using the handpiece.
i'd tell any newbie that learning to do push work without power would be better. without power one gets the "feel" of what is being done. as buisness picks up, powerr toys could save you time.

Travis Fry

I would agree with both of the above, but I think the power toys do more than just save time. Hand push and powered engraving are, to me, very different things. The principles and essentials are the same, but having to exert force (hand push) while also maintaining control is a much more complex skill than maintaining that same control without having to exert force. In other words, the "toys" make control of the outcome A LOT easier. And for anything but the smallest projects, they make the whole operation faster (or can, anyway).

That said, Monk is certainly correct. For soft metals power assist is not strictly necessary, and sometimes not even helpful. If you just want to dabble, by all means start with hand push. Even if you eventually upgrade (and that IS the right word) to power assist, your hand push experience will not be wasted. If you want engraving to be a serious part of your business, with the capability to go beyond jewelry, power assist will be a part of your future.