Historically correct?

FL-Flinter

Elite Cafe Member
Disclaimer to this post:

** Don't take this post the wrong way, I cannot do the work myself so this is nothing more than a question of curiosity and is by no means an insult to anyone. Being an absolute beginner and with the realization that my physical issues will never allow me to even reach 10% the quality level displayed on this forum, I pose this question purely for the curiosity factor. **

Any of you folks get the latest copy of America's 1st Freedom from the NRA? They have some nice pic's of a crown model LC Smith. Looking closely at the pic's, I see several boo boo's, small they are but there nonetheless.

Obviously the engravers of old didn't have the mega-view microscopes, cobalt and titanium gravers and high-tech sharpening machines, they were likely happy just to have some sort of half decen light source. Since taking a real sincere interest in graving, I have looked very closely at numerous high-end guns and I've yet to find any without some flaws in them. Some are harder to find than others but they are there. I'm talking custom one-of-kind guns built by Merkel, Drillings, Mauser, Winchester & Colt as well as quite a number of original muzzle loaders. The common denominator on all of them is that they were built and graved pre-1950.

When I look at the work you folks are doing, I can't seem to find the normal variations in cut depth and width as is seen in the originals. Strait lines of today are strait while the old one have a little wander to them. Today's cuts are perfectly symetrical while the old cuts show a little more bevel on one side than the other.

These are just some things I picked up on as a true beginner so now I have to ask, in a kind way, when one puts emphasis on building a "historically correct" gun, where do we draw the line at cutting off the modernization and doing the work in a more historically correct manner as well as in a historically correct theme?

ED DELORGE