Help, please: Hi all, will someone please offer me some help and guidance?

blacksmith70

Hi all,
I've recently joined the site, I am a traditionally trained and qualified blacksmith, and have taken on a commission for a phosphor bronze sundial, I have no previous experience in engraving, however I am good working with my hands and I feel that it may be providence that I now am being given the opportunity to expand my skill base into the field of engraving.
I have purchased a GRS Graversmith, together with a 901 handpiece and various gravers, and this week I will be purchasing the GRS' powerhone complete dual angle system'.
I would really appreciate some basic advice from those of you who are experienced in this field, the sundial consists of two crescents, interlocked at their midpoints 90 degrees to each other. I am required to engrave numerals and hour lines upon the inner curve of the horizontal crescent, which is 40mm thick. The numerals will be approx. 25mm high.
The circular baseplate is also 40mm thick phosphor bronze and requires a 16 point star, approx. 400mm in dia to be engraved-multiple straight lines involved approx. 200mm long.

My worries/questions are this:

1 How do I stop my flat graver digging in, like a spade into earth, I gather that I should grind a heel into the underside of the graver to act as a 'skid'?
2The sundial will be outside, how deep should I engrave, and how should I apply the paint, (one of your contributors that I read recommended a flat black paint)

I have 3 weeks to complete this work and deliver to site, so any possible help that any of you could give would be greatly appreciated,

Yours Dave,
a very worried British blacksmith/trainee engraver!!

mrthe

Hi Dave welcome to the Café!
One question...