Help on coloring and sealing engravings.

MrMister

Hello, I am new at engraving and doing simple engravings on coins and have tried black enamel paint for highlighting the engraving, but it won't stay in and will even wash out once it dries. Is there anything special I need to do to keep it in the engraved area or need to use something other than black enamel paint? Also how do I seal the coin to keep the black highlight from being worn out by touching? I read somewhere online that the coins can be sealed to prevent this. Thank-you for all your help.

mrthe

Hi and welcome to the forum!
Have you try etching ink? dry slow, you have to wait 10 days for a complete dry but before that you can erase it only with fire

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
MrMister: Welcome to the Cafe :tiphat:

I use Rust-Oleum flat black (non-aerosol). I flood it on with a Q-tip and wipe it off with my thumb. Been using it for as long as I've been engraving and with good results. Mrthe's idea of etching ink sounds much more durable though. I will have to try that :)

scott99

Elite Cafe Member
Hi,this may sound too simple,but your work must be compleatly free of oil before you fill it. Finger prints count as oil. Clean and dry thats the ticket.I hope this helps.

scott99

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i'm not a prolific coin carver, but i found an excellent way to add color to coins--