Help for a rookie.

NeilB

I own a trophy and engraving shop that uses mechanical equipment only, and I'm wanting to learn hand engraving to take it to that next level. I have acquired an air compressor and microscope but am a little overwhelmed at the types of gravers and sharpening systems out there. I'm looking to get my feet wet on a budget, any help on the best bang for my buck would be appreciated. I am also looking for a class in the southeast area of the country asap.

glstrcowboy

Elite Cafe Member
Welcome to the forum. The Lindsay graver sharpening templates are pretty much foolproof. The GRS system is highly regarded as well, and makes a very good graver. Good luck!

rod

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Neil,

Welcome to the Forum!

Many of us have wandered in the wilderness, and made progress on our own, yet I know of no one who took a week of lessons, who ever regretted the experience, whether they went as a complete novice, or like me, took lessons after a considerable period trying on my own. If lessons look pricy, believe me, they are money and time savers, in getting you pointed in a direction where eventually your own style can blossom. I note you are based in the USA, by contrast, in Europe there still exists some opportunities to undertake an extensive and long apprenticeship in hand engraving, one that puts great emphasis on a deep grounding in the arts, particularly in drawing, and its history. This is best started at puberty, before the brain is fully developed. I started my apprenticeship at 15, for seven years, but in another trade...toolmaking, so I am weak in drawing, but pretty good with geometry, both are needed. In the US there is more of a 'gung ho' to cut metal, right from the start, and worry later about what you want to do with your cutting skills. However, the American tradition has proved very competitive in many ways, as shown in Roger Bleile's wonderful book devoted to American Engravers.