Hello from a real newbie

Hi Everyone,

Complete newbie here, I'm all set for a beginners class with Mark Silver this June.

I have a used Gravermach incoming, I'm sure I'll be asking a lot of questions.

I've been involved with metal work most of my life, machining and blacksmithing mostly. And electronics.

I'm ready to try something new!

I have made a couple practice plates, one steel and one brass. As soon as the machine gets here I will have a go at it!

Take care,

Matt

Attachments

• P1010020rj.jpg
    P1010020rj.jpg
    261.5 KB · Views: 145
  • P1010017rj.jpg
    P1010017rj.jpg
    282.2 KB · Views: 143

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
well, for a newbie-- your straight lines are excellent ! i don't own a gravermach, but have been using a gravermeister since the dark ages. also use a lindsay, h&c, as well as pushgraving. the tool i use depends on what kind of mood i'm in, and what i want to acheive. good music is an essential for me to work, as well as being comfortable at the vice. i have developed (through mechanical evolution ), a scope cart containing a height-adjustable ballvise support. led lighting, and a super nifty grs positioning vise. the entire rig is on castors, and i can move it where i want. whatever you do, develop drawing skills and practice as much as you can.

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Matt,Welcome to the engravers Cafe,you mention taking a class with Mark Silver, good choice Mark is none for his building of beautiful muzzleloader.Good luck with you engraving. J.J.

Bama

Elite Cafe Member