Heel drag issues

jkaragias

I am currently suffering from some serious heel drag issues. At first I thought it was operator error. I used a graver (120 square) a teacher had made for me which has a parallel heel (made from a Lindsay template I believe) which gave me no issues and I was able to perform decent cuts with no drag. I have a GRS D/A fixture and machine and have watched Sam's video on sharpening. I've tried to replicate what's shown in the video to the best of my ability. Some gravers I make with a GRS style heel (<.25mm) tend to give me issues with drag. I also am using about a 17 degree heel. I'm not entirely sure if I am still making the gravers incorrectly or if there is another trick to sharpening them that I am missing. It very well may be operator error but the fact that I can execute these cuts much better with the aforementioned graver confuses me a little. Any help is appreciated and for the record I am a novice so any additional input would be great
Thanks !

BCan

JJ's correct, and for my two-cents worth: don't forget about how much a little oil of wintergreen or other lube on the tip or your graver, helps.

jkaragias

Your problem may be the parallel heel it has to be even on both side. J.J.
I am currently using a traditional heel on them. the ones that seem to work a little bit better have a higher heel angle and are just done on a 1200 grit disc. When I make a heel with the ceramic lap (no power), I have trouble with the heel drag. Even though the heels are the same size as the ones I'm making with a 1200 grit disc.

rweigel

Elite Cafe Member
France (north of Alsace, close to Germany)