Gustavo Aragao work/knives

GusAragon

Hello, my name is Gustavo Aragao, i'm a knife maker and engraving beginner, was a tattoo artist before, but 20 years of tattooing claimed my lower back, so I went to knife making and engraving, as metal don't cry when you work on it. Lol. I'm doing this project for my city knife show next year. Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_20231130_173404_912.jpg
    IMG_20231130_173404_912.jpg
    169.1 KB · Views: 238
  • 20231205_175347.jpg
    20231205_175347.jpg
    143.8 KB · Views: 166
Last edited:

Rannis

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Very nice, I like the fresco or tile like background.

Ken Denning

I was an art teacher/jeweler for 35 years. I love Art Nouveau since the beginning with it's flowing lines and biomorphic shapes. The use of the negative in conjunction with the positive fascinates me and is ideal for engraving. I have made knives for years and have etched some designs on the blades. Is this design meant to be etched or engraved. If it is to be engraved the metal would have to be annealed, I presume. Is this the case?

GusAragon

I was an art teacher/jeweler for 35 years. I love Art Nouveau since the beginning with it's flowing lines and biomorphic shapes. The use of the negative in conjunction with the positive fascinates me and is ideal for engraving. I have made knives for years and have etched some designs on the blades. Is this design meant to be etched or engraved. If it is to be engraved the metal would have to be annealed, I presume. Is this the case?
Yes it will, I'll use the atp 641 compound to do it next in the oven and keep it from scaling. I'm studying now to make something for the handle that resembles Rene Lalique but in the next ones.

Adder

Elite Cafe Member
Yes it will, I'll use the atp 641 compound to do it next in the oven and keep it from scaling. I'm studying now to make something for the handle that resembles Rene Lalique but in the next ones.