GRS Training Center Question

ECO-DAVE

Hello... I am interested in learning to engrave and I am not sure the best way to get started. I have zero experience engraving and would like some advice on how to get started. Books? Videos? School? I like the school idea but its a pretty big investment considering I need to buy equipment. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

DKanger

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I like the school idea but its a pretty big investment considering I need to buy equipment. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
I believe that you will receive a student discount on equipment while taking a class. It will offset some of the expense for the class. A class can take years off your learning curve and get you going almost immediately.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
A class can get you up to speed far faster than trial & error by yourself. If you choose to learn with videos instead there are plenty of good ones out there.

Beathard

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Lots of good classes out there. I have taken 4 at GRS. Sam, Rex and Marty were great instructors. I'm taking two more this year. They will make sure you get off on the right foot without learning bad habits. GRS also offers a discount on equipment, free shipping and no sales tax to students.

Last edited:

ECO-DAVE

Thanks guys... Wish I lived in Kansas! I live in Az. And could go to Yavapai but the commute one day a week will get very expensive.

Beathard

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Look into Sam's videos... And participate in the forum and you will get it. But it would still be worth a week vacation in Emporia, Kansas.

ECO-DAVE

I see GRS uses the Mach AT.... If I learned on this machine will I have trouble using another machine if I decide to buy a different outfit?

tim wolf

Elite Cafe Member
Hi Eco-dave
As a beginner i bought e few of sam's vidies, real interesting.