Greetings & Question about Transferring Designs onto Silver

Poimandres

Greetings,

I am new to engraving and recently decided to work on a project to engrave a design onto a piece of silver. I've been looking around for solutions to transfer the design, and came across these:

http://www.amazon.com/Lesley-Rileys-Transfer-Artist-5-Sheet/dp/1607052539

Does anyone know if such "iron on" transfer paper could be used to transfer a design onto a piece of silver prior to hand engraving?

Apologies if this is coming off as an ignorant question, as I mentioned i am new to this.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
welcome to the forum. i have never used such, but would think it not very useful to an engraver. check the tips section on transfer techniques . a requirement for good engraving is good drawing. perhaps you'd save a lot of fiddling and just draw direct on the piece.

Poimandres

Hi Monk!

Thank you for the reply. I've been checking the various transfer techniques here...lol there are a ton of different methods.

I was asking about this particular iron on sheet since it seemed like a good way to transfer a complex pattern. My design has a lot of lettering that I needed spaced out precisely, something easily done in Adobe Illustrator but much harder to do by hand :p

My biggest concern is that it appears to leave a think polymer layer on the surface and I was unsure as to how that would affect the silver. I also wanted to see if anyone had tried anything along these lines.

It seems my best option might be to use a carbon paper trace method.

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
As monk said, you probably won't get the best results with products made to put images on things other than metal.
But there are many threads on how to do transfers.