Question: Graver Sharpening

For Christmas my wife gave me an engraver. She didn't know what to get me for gravers so she got me a couple v-point blanks.

I've been shopping for sharpening systems and have talked to a couple people who really like GRS hones. I have not talked to anyone who has used the Lindsay templates to sharpen gravers. Since I'm just starting out I'm interested in the Lindsay because of the price.

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
windy.The Lindsay sharping templates are designed for power assist because of the parallel heel,if your going to engrave with H&C and hand push graver need a shorter heel. J.J.

Steve L S

Windy, The Crocker sharpening jig is another alternative. It is not usually recommended on forums like this for those starting out because it requires real skill to use it properly and sharpening is the vital first step in engraving. I was shown how to use it properly by an intaglio printmaker- that's what you need, someone to show you, and someone to sharpen a graver for you to the highest possible standard. Engraving is one of those things that can send you down rabbit holes to discover fire, invent the wheel and the steam engine all by yourself.
best wishes and don't give up
Steve

monk

Staff member
all the systems are to be preferred compared to just freehand sharpening. the grs way allows the use of any geometry you could possibly want. the lindsay way, although very easy to do, requires a separate template for each geometry one wants to use.is one better than the other ? no. they are just different ways to achieve a result.

dogcatcher

Elite Cafe Member
I learned more about sharpening by studying the various sharpening jig/tools. Research "graver sharpening jigs", and then read the discussions on the "hows and whys" each was made and used. You will learn about the angles, why some angles work better than others, why you need repeatability from one sharpening to the next. Along with a lot of other "stuff".