Graver blank Help!

Villnow

Lol, I definitely need some help. I'm completely new to engraving and just purchased a cheap graver to start before I go spending a ton of money. Yes it's just a Chinese one off Amazon. My problem is it didn't come with any blanks so I purchased a cheap one to try but it's round on the end and doesn't fit into my handpiece. I've attached a picture and any help!! Would be greatly appreciated. Do you grind or fit blanks to handpieces or collets? Or where would I find the right one.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220218-090224.png
    Screenshot_20220218-090224.png
    250.9 KB · Views: 35

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
you will need to grind a bit of a flat on the back of the blank. just enough to allow insertion into the handpiece. since the blank is round, the flat spot will assist you in indexing the blank when you sharpen it. i don't want to spend yer money, but-- you will need a sharpening system. do not-- that is do not buy a cheap knockoff. if you want to save cash, go to youtube and search for "graver sharpening" videos. such is crude but slow and effective. best of luck to you.

Villnow

Thank you. I did grind it to fit and got my first taste of metal engraving yesterday. I'm definitely going to be buy nicer equipment and it's definitely fun.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
Lol, I definitely need some help. I'm completely new to engraving and just purchased a cheap graver to start before I go spending a ton of money. Yes it's just a Chinese one off Amazon. My problem is it didn't come with any blanks so I purchased a cheap one to try but it's round on the end and doesn't fit into my handpiece. I've attached a picture and any help!! Would be greatly appreciated. Do you grind or fit blanks to handpieces or collets? Or where would I find the right one.
this is called a "handpiece". the gravers or blanks are inserted into the end of the handpiece

tdelewis

Elite Cafe Member