Critique Request first time to engrave spyderco

smason

Howdy,
please feel free to critique, this is the first time I have engraved a kinfe. I am still pretty new to engraving. after seeing the awesome work you guys all do I'm kinda embarrassed to post this, but I got thick skin. One of the things I know I need to work on is the roundness of my scrolls, I draw them round, but then go to cutting them and I don't follow my drawing, guess that means I need more practice.

Thanks much, Steve
IMG_4237.jpg IMG_4236.jpg

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
looks rather nice to me. i'm a huge fan of work that will outlast the person creating it. your 3 crosscuts i don't like them much. i think they draw the eye away a bit. on the clip side, i would never have engraved under the clip. just on the ends. not an engraving crime, just personal preferences. the end scrolls come out at an excessively steep angle. they should just "flow" out. thanks for showing, now that i've bashed you.

Dani Girl

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
That looks really good. Your cutting will improve with practice but do keep at it. You're doing really good. I don't mind the three cuts... they're really cool when they're used in the right places, maybe they're slightly oversized on this, but who cares... whoever owns that will be proud I'm sure.

Dirtdigger

Monk gave you good improving points that i cant disagree, but for my newbie eyes this knife looks great!
I´m going to begin to cut my first knife in a few days allso, just need to finish my practise run first on practice plate. I hope mine will be half as good as yours!

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member