Finally, a knife for myself!

Doc Mark

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
After carrying a cheap Case knife with some very early engraving attempts, I decided to make a nicer personal one to show off to potential customers.

This is another relatively inexpensive (under $200) Lake Design made for him in China. They are very well made but lack a fine Damascus blade. This is the most gold work I have ever attempted and it was an eye opening experience! Setting this much gold and then removing the background was slow going but it came out pretty good. Learning how to shade soft gold was also fun after working in much harder steels.

I also replaced the rather plain Stag scales with mammoth tooth and that is a job I may not tackle again. What a pain in the butt! However, the results were worth it (I think).

Any critiques are welcome. I'm still learning.

P.S. I apologize for the cheap lanyard "toggles". For the life of me, I couldn't find any decent gold or gold plated ones that were large enough for the leather lanyard and still had some style. I had been able to get some in the past but the company that made them no longer makes the larger size! I have been to every bead store in my area and must have looked at at least 10,000 bead etc. on various websites. All to no avail. If anyone has any suggestions, please don't hesitate to mention them.

Attachments

• My-Lake-knife-spine.jpg
    My-Lake-knife-spine.jpg
    58.8 KB · Views: 405
  • My-Lake-knife-B-side.jpg
    My-Lake-knife-B-side.jpg
    65.5 KB · Views: 403
  • My-Lake-knife-A-side.jpg
    My-Lake-knife-A-side.jpg
    64.1 KB · Views: 403
  • My-Lake-knife-open.jpg
    My-Lake-knife-open.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 402
Last edited:

scott99

Elite Cafe Member
WOW! What a nice knife, when you show that one eyes will pop all over the place. It will certainly impress potential customers.

scott99

Marrinan

~ Elite 1000 Member ~