Question: Fill that space practice

scott99

Elite Cafe Member
Hi,this is an attempt to fill a space properly. I know its just a circle but thats whats up with it. It is cut on the back of an old cull silver dollar so the diameter is just short of 1 1/2 inches. THe whole thing was cut with a 120 degree graver with a 45 degree face and a 15 degree heel. I am still learning to control that 120 and it shows here and there. :eek:

I am torn about shading the design or background removal, many of the open areas are very small and that does intimidate me some. I also know my idea of small areas on an engraving is probably way ,way bigger that most Engravers think of as small, but background removal still is a learning process for me. :thinking:

Of course any coments on the cutting or design are more than welcome and needed. If anyone has an opinion on shading or background removal that would be nice too.

scott99 e8.jpg e7.jpg

Andrew Biggs

Go on..........get into it.

there is only one way you are going to learn about background removal..........and that is by doing it. Yes, you will make mistakes but you will also learn a lot.

And yes, you should also shade it :)

Cheers
Andrew

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
removal is a bit easier on silver than some of the hard metals. your celtic design is nice, but i wouldn't practice on a nice piece of silver. i'd get some practice in on copper first. don't know if you have a scope, but here's a case where one would be a real asset. you may end up making some of your own gravers for this type work. used dental drills can make some very useful tiny gravers for getting into all those nooks & crannies. the same geometries on the tiny ones, they're just very small.

scott99

Elite Cafe Member