Engraving course in uk?

Bigarmedmike

Hi I am a jobbing goldsmith and have decided to purchase either an airgraver or one of the GRS systems for engraving jewelery and stone setting. Before I purchase either system I was hoping to find an engraving course in the uk where these systems are used, I have found 2 courses ran by Wayne Parrott but I think only cover push engraving, and although this could be usefull I was hoping to find a course that used one of the GRS or airgraver systems so that I could see how they operate before I purchase.
Any advice on uk course or what system you think would be best for my needs would be welcome?
At the moment I have a few GRS push gravers and a GRS bench mate and I'm a beginner when it comes to engraving.
Thanks mike

diandwill

Elite Cafe Member
There are several engravers on this forum from the U.K, of varying degrees of ability, ranging from world's best (or close to it) to fairly new. I won't name them, but a little search should enable you to find them. They would be the ones to ask, whether they know of a course or are willing to teach one. Most have GRS equipment and may also have Lindsay tools, so you could try both!

Bigarmedmike

Hi thanks, I have already looked into the course on the handengravers web site but I think it only covers push engraving as does the one in Dean, I would ideally like one that usen the Grs style system so I could get a feel for the machine and get advice on a set up. I suppose a push graving course could be a good place to start to learn the basics, tool sharpening etc and maybee someone there could advise me on the machines as well, any other links or members people know of in the uk let me know. Thanks again mike

PS_Bond

Elite Cafe Member
Hi Mike -